Professor Jens Pahnke, M.D., Ph.D., E.F.N.



Current Affiliations:
Full Professor (I), Medical Faculty, University of Oslo (UiO), Oslo, Norway
Medical Head of the Section of Neuropathology, University Hospital Oslo (OUS), Oslo, Norway

Guest-Lecturer, University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein / University of Lübeck (UzL), Lübeck Institute of Dermatology (LIED), Germany
Guest-Lecturer, University of Latvia (UL), Department of Pharmacology, Riga, Latvia
Guest-Lecturer, Tel Aviv University (TAU), George S. Wise Faculty of Life Science, Department of Neuroscience, Tel Aviv, Israel

Former Affiliations:
2013-2020 – Lecturer, German University Cairo (GUC), Al-Qahira, Egypt
2017-2021 – EU-COST action management committee representative (NeuroMIG) for Norway
2014-2021 – Guest Professor/researcher, Leibniz Institute of Plant Biochemistry (IPB), Halle, Germany
2008-2014 – Scientific Advisor, German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE e.V.), Bonn, Germany
2011-2014 – Director, Neurodegeneration Research Lab (NRL), Department of Neurology, University of Magdeburg, Germany
2005-2011 – Univ.-Professor, University of Rostock, Faculty of Medicine, Rostock, Germany
2005-2011 – Director of the Neurodegeneration Research Lab (NRL), Department of Neurology, University of Rostock, Germany
2005-2011 – Director of the Neuromuscular Laboratory (NML), Department of Neurology, University of Rostock, Germany
2002-2005 – University of Zürich, Department of Surgical Pathology and Department of Neuropathology, Switzerland
2001-2002 – University of Rostock, Department of Neurology, Germany

Societies / Prizes:
2022 – Honory Member of the Latvian Society of Pharmacology
2022 – Oswald Schmiedeberg Prize

Oswald Schmiedeberg Prize

Oswald Schmiedeberg Prize to Jens Pahnke

2016-2019 – President of the Scandinavian Society for Neuropathology (SNS)
2008 – Azheimer Forschung Initiative e.V. Prize

Academic degrees and Professional qualifications:
2007 – E.F.N. – European Fellow in Neuropathology by examination
2000 – M.D. (Dr. med.) at the University of Greifswald, Medical Faculty
2004 – Ph.D. (Dr. rer. nat.) at the University of Rostock, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

2000 – Diploma in Molecular Biology
2000 – State Examination in Medicine

1995-2000 – Molecular Biology & Pharmacology, Faculty for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, University of Greifswald, Germany
1994-2000 – Medicine, Medical Faculty, University of Greifswald, Germany
1992-1993 – JET Joint Undertaking, Plasma Heating Devision, Power Group, Abingdon, OXON, U.K.
1989-1990 – Semiconductor Factory Frankfurt (HFO) – Apprenticeship in Electronics, Germany

1st Advisor for Ph.D. theses
2020 – Surya P. Rai (University of Oslo)
2018 – Olanrevajo Salako (University of Lübeck)
2017 – Kristin Paarmann (University of Magdeburg)
2016 – Johannes Steffen (University of Magdeburg)
2015 – Christina Fröhlich (University of Magdeburg)
2014 – Jan Stenzel (University of Rostock)
2014 – Jacqueline Hofrichter (University of Rostock)
2012 – Cathleen Lange (University of Rostock)
2012 – Toni Schumacher (University of Rostock)
2010 – Markus Krohn (University of Rostock)
2010 – Katja Scheffler (University of Rostock)

Opponent / Reviewer PD. theses (Privatdozent, habilitation)
2014 – Katharina Stöck (PD)
2010 – Anja Schneider (PD)

Advisor for Diploma, Master, BSc theses